Recipes and such – Week Two

‘Cause I’m going to want a few of these later:

Plantain Tortillas – Made these cause Sean was craving corn Tortillas – really held up nicely!
Tomato soup – Creamy without the cream.
Crock Pot // BBQ Chicken – Went off of the recipe totally for this one.  Made my boiled spiced chicken instead.  Worked well with just 2 chicken breasts.
Damn Fine Chicken – Didn’t really follow this one to a T either.  Added sesame oil (FTW) and loved it.  More shallots, please.
Zoodles and Meatballs Sounds like a kids meal, but with the Focaccia Bread? Grown up for sure.
Blueberry Banana Paleo Muffins – These are delicious – although I would add some sugar to them next time to kick it up a notch (t minus 21 days).  Pour on some Coconut milk, cinnamon and nutmeg?  Nailed it.
::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::
There is a creativity in cooking that I’ve really enjoyed this past week.  What to cook, how to cook it, how to work around a recipe when I don’t have 100% of the ingredients.  Its fun, fly by the seat of your pants type of stuff.
But yesterday, while cooking, I was in a fog.  Tired, worn down and a little absent. I’ve been reflecting recently on my own self reflection (which is ironic, yes, but the truth nonetheless). How much self reflection do I do?  Is it accurate?  Is it enough?  What have I discovered or learned from it?
But he {Jesus} would withdraw to desolate places and pray.
                                              Luke 5:16
I’m not a very self aware person.  I think that’s part of the reason I wanted to do the whole30.  I don’t pay attention to what is going on inside of me (or what I’m putting in my mouth to feed myself, really) and I’m not good at listening to the Spirit speak. It might have to do with my multitasking tendencies.  It is such a skill, and yet such a distraction when I need to focus on one thing. In prayer, I find my mind wandering.  I have to pray out loud if I want to have any more than 5 minutes to sit still and know that He is The Lord.
I am about to go into a Redemption group within my church here in NYC.  It is a group that is focused on the book of Exodus and how that story is the framework of the Gospel. How God brings forth a better Moses to his people who are fickle, untrusting and unfaithful to Him, and redeems them by enacting justice for His glory.  I look forward to having time every week in which I can self reflect with others in the room out loud. Asking them for insight about who I am, what I do and why and how to better steer in the direction of Jesus.  To be more like him in thought, speech and love… and even in my relationship to food.

But he answered, “It is written, Man shall not live by bread alone, but by every word that comes from the mouth of God.’”                             Matthew 4:4

Leave a Reply

