I am a creature of habit.

Since moving to NYC with my husband, we have had the same breakfast practically everyday. He graciously cooks it as well : 9.9 times out of 10.  Not including birthday brunches or traveling, my breakfast consists of two egg whites, one egg yolk over medium-ish. the yoke runny enough so that I can sop it up with my one slice of wheat toast but the eggs whites solid enough so that they are cooked and not spilling out everywhere. There is water (and on the weekends when I have more time to sit and enjoy there is coffee with sugar and milk).

I recognize that this is not the worst breakfast I could consume on a daily basis. There is not male syrup, no waffles or pancakes, no fatty fat bacon or processed sausage or cheese. There are no donuts (which aren’t my favorite anyway) nor any dense bagel and sloppy cream cheese (although I have a half of one every Friday at work).

Yes, I recognize that this is not an awful breakfast, but is it the best? Am I taking in what will make me feel light, most energized and most alert for my wakeful hours? Or am I just choosing the easy, the enjoyable, the quick?

I just turned 29. And instead of doing the same ole same ole for the next year. I’m going to be trying a few different things. Starting with the whole 30 food plan. I’m not calling it a diet because it’s less about the weight I am and more about the way I feel. It’s time to treat my body as it was intended to be treated.

‘Do you not know that your bodies are temples of the Holy Spirit, who is in you, whom you have received from God? You are not your own; you were bought at a price. Therefore honor God with your bodies.’
1 Corinthians 6:19-20

I am a creature of habit.

Leave a Reply

