this will not turn into a blog about what i eat.

I have a love / hate relationship with blogs that are entirely food-focused. I am amazed at the diligence of those who post every single morsel they consume, but I also don’t want to be someone who obsesses over it. What I eat does not define me, but it does tell me something about my habits, what I value (and crave) and what my day looks like.

So yesterday, I walked out the door without my breakfast. Not normal (if you’ve read my one other post) but sometimes habits are broken in order to get to work early. I also loathe getting up any earlier than I have to (which also says something about my comfort idol).

None the less, this was my ‘instead of’ breakfast.

What did I learn? I was starving when it came to lunch time. This is not sufficient. It will not satisfy my appetite in the morning. It will not satisfy. And that’s what I am looking for – satisfaction.

Starting the Whole30 plan in t-minus 8 days, I am looking for food that will satisfy and enrich and fuel me. Not fill me with a bunch of crap. But that is not the only satisfaction, enrichment and fulfillment I need. It will not complete me, just as my marriage or my family or my friends or my job do not complete me.

:::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

“As a deer pants for flowing streams, so pants my soul for you, O God. My soul thirsts for God, for the living God” (Psalm 42:1–2).

“My soul thirsts for you; my flesh faints for you, as in a dry and weary land where there is no water” (Psalm 63:1).

this will not turn into a blog about what i eat.

Leave a Reply

