this is what temptation looks like.

Mardi Gras is French for Fat Tuesday, referring to the practice of the last night of eating richer, fatty foods before the ritual fasting… The day is sometimes referred to as Shrove Tuesday, from the word shrive, meaning “confess”.”

Image

Yesterday, I made a week one plan for our Paleo Whole30 extravaganza.  I have a shopping list as well as an 8 hour block of time committed to cooking and catching up on Downton Abbey on Saturday.  My husband will join if he’s got some elasticity within his sermon prep.

I felt great about it.

Now I have this large box of donuts at my desk.  And I confess, I’ve had 1/3 of 3 of them because… I can.  I still have a few days. But what about next week?  What happens when I see something I want, and I think I deserve it, and then realize that I’ve set an example for myself to meet? This makes me think about the larger hurdles of temptation that I see in my everyday.  The choices that I have to face day in and day out – and 99% of them have nothing to do with eating sugar or not. What about those choices? What do I do in the face of those temptations?

::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

Our example is Christ.  And in order for me to walk as closely as I can to His gait and tempo and cadence, I need to be in tune with what He has for me to accomplish and what He would like me to stay away from.  So first I’ve got to know Him……

      And this is eternal life, that they know you the only true God, and Jesus Christ whom you have sent.

John 17:3

……..and then I’ve got to listen to Him.

   But I say, walk by the Spirit, and you will not gratify the desires of the flesh.

Galatians 5:16

So we must pray in the face of temptation. Pray for guidance and wisdom. Pray for a right relationship with what we are holding to be important and defining.  Because eating on a meal plan for 30 (Whole) days, is not what defines me.  And that’s a good thing. Christ is what defines me.  His redeeming work.  And that, in the face of temptation, is more powerful than my will.

Leave a Reply

