The end is near…

… but I feel like we’re really getting in the swang of thangs.

This week we had some pretty killer meals.  My favorite so far was the Cajun Spiced Porgy Fish (I modified this recipe of course – replacing the flour with coconut flour and the breadcrumbs with flaxseed).  It turned out amazing especially when served with this Thai coconut soup, a freshly sliced mango and some lime to come along side and add a little citrus-y kick.  Image

Also, don’t even get me started on how good this Mexican Braised Beef was.  I didn’t roast it in the oven, just boiled on the stove — and it was unreal.  We made the plantain tortillas again (much easier to work with when the concoction is cold instead of room temperature) and they über tasty with all of the toppings. The radishes (another food I never have in the house but have come to really appreciate) raised the bar texturally.  The spice was spot on and I can’t wait to put this regularly into our repertoire.

Image

Yes, I still miss having a baguette with squishy, stinky cheese and a glass of red wine.  But I don’t miss the feeling of stuffing myself so extremely full.  I don’t miss feeling like a huge glutton at the end of the day.  I don’t miss figuring out lunch 2 minutes after I should have left for work. I don’t miss eating sugar at my desk and then crashing at 3pm because I am out of energy.  I do not miss that.

I enjoy seeing God’s creation of flavor and texture in ways I haven’t experienced before.  I enjoy knowing my new favorite vegetable is a Zucchini even if I still have trouble remembering how to spell it (thank you, red underline).  I enjoy knowing what I am putting in my body and what hands (recently washed) worked to make it and knowing that if I go out to eat, I don’t need to spend the least amount of money on the most amount of food.  My perspective has changed.

I don’t want to be one who “lived on the earth in luxury and in self-indulgence… fatten{ing my} heart in a day of slaughter.”

I want to be one who “is first pure, then peaceable, gentle, open to reason, full of mercy and good fruits, impartial and sincere.”

It finally feels like I have a better idea of what it looks like to tame my body, my cravings, to change my habits.  It is a long hard road for this sinful lady, but one that will bear fruit and joy. I’m still looking forward to the next 2 days of clean eating and pray that I will have instilled in myself a few good habits that I can continue in discipline.  I will not be a puppet to my appetite. And this blog will not only be about food.

Leave a Reply

