It has begun.

We are on day two of the Whole30.  It hasn’t gotten hard… yet.  Well, other than the 8 hours of cooking I put in over the weekend. I wanted to start us off right  with some semblance of success. Start with a plan as much as I possibly could, but try not to be too glued to my preferences or comfort just in case something didn’t end up the way I wanted it to.

Recipes we made on Saturday + Sunday

5 Spice Slow Cooker Ribs,  Silky Gingered Zucchini SoupEnchilada SauceChocolate ChiliSavory Breakfast Casserole, Almond Flour Biscuits, Sweet Potato Mash and Bacon because… bacon.

Recipes we will make tonight

Gingery Pork and BockChoy Soup (recipe at the bottom based off of the Ribs recipe above) and Roasted Cauliflower Hummus to eat with all of our veggies for a snack.

All in all, I am surprised by the amount of patience I have had in the whole endeavor.  On Sunday, we had the breakfast casserole. Good with the ribs as the add in meat and some added red bell peppers.  After Sean preached out in Brooklyn, we went out to brunch with some sweet friends and had burgers (minus the bread and fries, of course) with side salads. Not too shabby.  But I was starving in about an hour.  My body is missing those slow burning carbs I guess. Having the chili (from above) ready to reheat at home in some green pepper shells as a vehicle with olives, onions and chives was really helpful.  Then I revisited cooking to make the almond biscuits, enchilada sauce and sweet potatoes.  After tasting it all to make sure it was up to par (wink wink) I had some Zucchini soup with Sean before calling it a day.

You’re probably thinking, “Wow, good for her. So prepared. What a flawless day one!”

Don’t worry.  We already messed up.

::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

You wake up. You feel groggy and your throat hurts.  Showers and water and breakfast don’t heal all wounds.  You say to your lovely, beautiful but albeit tired wife, “Will you get some Emergen-c ready for me?”.  She dutifully responds with a ‘Yes’ and figures if you feel like you are getting sick, she should take some precautions as well.  So she gets some Tangerine Emergen-c ready for you and herself.  You are running out the door.  You both take the shot of tangerine vitamin C goodness and realize – that was very sweet.  Like very sweet.

Fructose, Fructose, Fructose.  What aren’t you in?!?

::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

What the face of failure looks like?  Laughter in this instance.  The Paleo Diet is not my savior, thank the Lord.

Every preparation I can make, every plan I put into place, are all under the power and providence of God. He is the Shepherd and I am His precious sheep. And I will follow, knowing that He is all powerful and at the same time, personal and intimate. 

“What man of you, having a hundred sheep, if he has lost one of them, does not leave the ninety-nine in the open country, and go after the one that is lost, until he finds it? And when he has found it, he lays it on his shoulders, rejoicing. And when he comes home, he calls together his friends and his neighbors, saying to them, ‘Rejoice with me, for I have found my sheep that was lost.’ Just so, I tell you, there will be more joy in heaven over one sinner who repents than over ninety-nine righteous persons who need no repentance.

                              Luke 15: 4-7

Leave a comment